+44 (0) 20 7222 8463 info@airleague.co.uk

A Message from our Patron

In 1909, when The Air League was founded, aviation was in its infancy, but the founders had the vision to recognise its potential for civil and military use. The Air League has never lost that vision and is as active as ever in promoting an interest in aviation among young people through the offer of Flying Scholarships and Bursaries; in supporting the development of effective military aviation; in stimulating internationally competitive aircraft manufacturing and air transport industries and in encouraging general aviation in this country. – HRH Prince Philip Duke of Edinburgh


Key People

Sir Roger Bone

Sir Roger Bone

President of the League

Sir Roger was President of Boeing UK from 2005 until September 2014. He is currently a non-executive director of two companies in the financial services and energy sectors, and among other not for profit organisations plays an active role as a Trustee at the National Centre for Universities and Business (NCUB).

Read More
C Walkinshaw Esq

C Walkinshaw Esq

Chairman of the Council

Christopher joined Marshall in 1983, initially as a Junior Management Trainee in the aerospace company. After a period working in the hangars and in Third Party Manufacturing, Christopher moved to the Commercial Office, where he worked on the RAF TriStar conversion project and the established executive jet maintenance business.

Read More
A J Brookes Esq

A J Brookes Esq

Chief Executive & Secretary

Andrew Brooke's completed RAF pilot training after graduating from Leeds University. Following reconnaissance and strike tours on Victors, Canberras and Vulcans, he served in HQ British Forces, Hong Kong, and then in the RAF Inspectorate of Flight Safety. He was the last operational RAF Commander at Greenham Common missile base.

Read More

Deputy President of the Air League

W R C Foyle Esq DL FRAeS FCILT  2


Vice-Chairman of the Council

Group Captain T M Holloway FRAeS

Life Vice-Presidents

Sir Michael Knight KCB AFC FRAeS

Sir Michael Marshall Esq CBE DL MA FRAeS FIMI

The Rt Hon Lord Tebbit CH


The Air League Council

J Brazier TD MP
Mrs A M B Coleman MRAeS
Miss V Cope MEng CEng MRAeS
R A Cox Esqa
Air Chief Marshal Sir Stephen Dalton GCB
R Edwards Esq
S J Fitz-Gerald FRAeS
Baroness Garden of Frognal
N Garland Esq

Baroness Gibson of Market Rasen OBE
Sir Gerald Howarth MP
K M Levett Esq
S Luxmoore MBA FRAeS Esq
D A A Marshall CBE FRAeS CEng
S A Pendry Esq MRAeS
A F Perkins Esq 1
L N Price Esq
J N Sharman Esq
K Smart CBE
Nicholas Whitney MBE MDA FRAeS