+44 (0) 20 7766 3488 [email protected]

A Message from our former Patron

In 1909, when The Air League was founded, aviation was in its infancy, but the founders had the vision to recognise its potential for civil and military use. The Air League has never lost that vision and is as active as ever in promoting an interest in aviation among young people through the offer of Flying Scholarships and Bursaries; in supporting the development of effective military aviation; in stimulating internationally competitive aircraft manufacturing and air transport industries and in encouraging general aviation in this country.

– HRH Prince Philip, The Duke of Edinburgh (1921-2021)

Key People


Deputy President of the Air League

Mr W R C Foyle DL 

Vice-Chairman of the Air League


Life Vice-Presidents

Air Chief Marshal Sir B K Burridge KCM CBE ADC

Group Captain T M Holloway

Sir M Knight KCB AFC

Mr K D R Mans

The Rt Hon Lord Tebbit CH

Mr C M H Walkinshaw

The Air League Council

The Council of the Air League is an advisory and consultative body composed of senior leaders within UK aviation, aerospace and defence.

Council has convened since the founding of the League in 1909 and works closely alongside the Board of Trustees in supporting the Air League’s strategic aims and objectives. The Council also identifies any matters concerning aviation, aerospace and defence that the Air League should engage in, support or highlight.

Council members will serve a three year term and may be invited to serve for a second, consecutive term before standing down. 

The Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees oversee the efficient and legal running of the Air League Trust in furtherance of its objects and in accordance with its Articles.

New Trustees are identified, selected and appointed by the existing Trustees and they serve for a period of three years and may be re-elected for a further three year term before standing down. Trustees are unpaid.

New Trustees may be appointed at any time, although their appointment will be confirmed and their period in office will run from the next Annual Meeting after their appointment by the Trustees. The Trustees appoint a Chairman from among the Trustees.

Members of the Council

Mr S Baker MP

Sir J Brazier TD

Ms V Cope FRAeS

Mr J Counsell

Mr R Courts MP

Mr S J Fitz-Gerald

Baroness Garden of Frognal

Mr J Goodsir 

Baron Davies of Gower

Sir G Howarth

Dr B Humphreys

Mr S A Pendry MRAeS

Professor I Poll

Mr C Tarry

Mr H Wheeldon

The Master of The Honourable Company of Air Pilots

Board of Trustees

Mr J B Steel QC (Chairman)

Mr J J Greaves FRAeS

Mr G R Hodge (Treasurer)

Mrs Z Layden

Air Commodore T Keeling OBE

Ms C MacAleese

Mr N C Whitney MBE FRAeS

Help change young lives through aviation