+44 (0) 20 7766 3488 [email protected]
Air League Annual Reception 2018 Flyer

Press Release – The Air League Annual Reception

The President, Chairman and Council of the Air League today announce the recipients of major awards to a number of individuals and organisations which have made an outstanding contribution to aviation and aerospace in the UK. The 2018 awards will be presented at the annual reception to be held at St James’s Palace on Wednesday 6th June 2018.

Please click here for the Press Release.

This awards ceremony will also see a number of scholarships and bursaries presented to young people who display the potential to become future pilots, engineers and aerospace leaders in the UK.

The individuals and organisations which will be recognised for their remarkable achievements are as follows:

The Founders Medal

The medal is awarded “For the most meritorious achievement in the whole field of British aviation or reaching itsculmination during the calendar year under review.”

page1image12248The Founders Medal is awarded to The Royal Air Force recognising its centenary.


The Gold Medal

The medal is awarded “For outstanding service to the causes of The Air League”.

The Gold Medal is awarded to Dame Carolyn McCall recognising her tireless efforts whilst Chief Executive of easyJet in encouraging women into aviation.


The Scott-Farnie Medal

The medal is awarded “for achievement in the field of air education”.

The Scott Farnie Medal is awarded to Mr Andrew Brookes recognising his efforts as CEO of The Air League.


The Jeffrey Quill Medal

The medal is awarded “For an outstanding contribution to the development of air-mindedness in Britain’s youth”.

The Jeffery Quill Medal is awarded to Airbus UK recognising their ongoing support of Air League activities and their continued engagement with schools, universities and young people across the spectrum of science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) within the UK.


The Marshall of Cambridge Medal

The medal is awarded “For exceptional support of the Air League Trust by a recent scholarship winner.”

The Marshall of Cambridge Medal is awarded to Mr Adam White for his continued support of the Air League and work within the Leading Edge.


Framed Addresses

Mr Simon Witts, to recognise his work as founder of The Aviation Skills Partnership.

Mr Grant Shapps MP, for his work and support of General Aviation and the success of the All-Party Parliamentary Group on General Aviation.

Pilot Magazine, Celebrating 50 years of publication in 2018.


Presidential Meritorious Service Award

Mr Christopher Walkinshaw

Mrs Mel McNulty

Help change young lives through aviation